How to Delete a Lock from Your Account

This article provides steps to remove a lock from your account. PLEASE NOTE: Your status as either a lock Owner or a Guest, as well as your reason for removing the lock, determines the best method for removing the device from your account. Select either Lock Owner or Guest (depending on your access level) for instructions.

Lock Owners

If you are a lock Owner and you need to delete a lock because you no longer wish to have access to it, you need to factory reset the lock in order to remove it from your account. Follow the factory reset instructions to remove the lock from your account. Factory resetting the lock will also remove all other associated accounts from the lock.

If you are a lock Owner and you need to remove the lock to install it on another door, you will need to factory reset the lock unless the door is on the same house as it is currently. If you are installing the lock on the same house, you can remove the lock from its current door and reinstall it on the new door without factory resetting. For example, if you are installing a new Yale smart lock on your front door and you wish to relocate your existing Yale smart lock to your back door, you can rename accordingly. In this case, you can rename the lock in your account as follows:

  1. Open the Yale Access App
  2. Select the house the lock is associated with from your Keychain
  3. Go to House Settings
  4. Select the device
  5. Select Lock Name
  6. Rename the lock in the field provided

If you are a lock Owner and you have moved and you left the lock at your former residence, you will need to factory reset the lock in order to remove it from your account.

Guests

If you are a Guest on a lock and you want to remove the device from your account:

  1. Open the Yale Access App
  2. Select the lock from your Keychain
  3. Go to the Guest List
  4. Select REMOVE SELF

You will be prompted to verify that you would like to remove the user, in this case yourself, from the device.